Please consider registering
sp_LogInOut Log Insp_Registration Register
Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search
Forum Scope


Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
sp_Feed Topic RSSoklahoma_0
Two Oklahoma Sooners Named To Maxwell Award Watch List
July 5, 2016
3:56 pm
College BattleGround
Forum Posts: 1680
Member Since:
March 9, 2016
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
Image EnlargerMark D. Smith-USA TODAY Sports

Each and every year, the Maxwell Award is given to the college football player of the year. Alabama Crimson Tide running back, Derrick Henry, won the award last season and the Oregon Ducks quarterback, Marcus Mariota, took home the honors the year before. Now, as the world of college football looks forward to 2016, we have a new list of hopefuls.

Two Oklahoma Sooners — quarterback Baker Mayfield and running back Samaje Perine — have been added to the list of players to watch for the Maxwell Award. In 2015, Mayfield threw for 3,700 yards including 36 touchdown passes. On the ground, Perine may have split carries but amassed 1,349 total yards while crossing the goal line 16 times.

In the history of the award, only two former Sooners have claimed the title of college football’s player of the year. The first was Pro Football Hall of Famer and wide receiver, Tommy McDonald in 1956. The second happens to be Jason White, a quarterback plagued by knee injuries throughout his career.

Could a third join them in 2016?

Forum Timezone: America/New_York
Most Users Ever Online: 212
Currently Online: Victornox
Guest(s) 3
Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)
Top Posters:
UGA BattleGround: 5
BetDawg: 1
Member Stats:
Guest Posters: 0
Members: 137836
Moderators: 0
Admins: 2
Forum Stats:
Groups: 6
Forums: 66
Topics: 1655
Posts: 1659
Newest Members:
nelly2113325714, lindahaveman72, RuslanHAX, maryannose, cindycarslaw356, RobertGap, mindy1197139, RobertSat, Michaelforne, mosesp3677081392
Administrators: admin: 2, College BattleGround: 1680