The Michigan State Spartans began spring practices this past Tuesday, and have released their spring football roster.

The roster, which includes just under 100 total players, returns 49 letterwinners and 19 position starters from the 2018 campaign, according to the Spring Preview on MSUSpartans.com

In addition to the returning players, the Spartans also have seven early-enrollees from the 2018 recruiting class: Javez Alexander (WR), Theo Day (QB), Dimitri Douglas (OL), Kalon Gervin (CB), Xavier Henderson (DB), Julian Major (WR) and Edward Warinner (LB).

Douglas will sit out spring ball with an Achilles injury, however. As will redshirt freshman Weston Bridges with an “undisclosed” injury.

There were some notable absentees on the roster, starting with Jalen Watts-Jackson. He was the hero of the 2015 game against Michigan, but has dealt with injuries since, and didn’t see the field much in 2017 (appearing in just six games).

Defensive back T.J. Harrell and defensive tackle Kyonta Stallworth were also not listed on the roster. It is possible that these players could be on the summer roster, however.

Overall, the Spartans will be returning 10 starters on offense, nine starters on defense and three specialists (placekicker, punter and long snapper).

MSU has the most returning production returning in the country, as it returns 100 percent of its passing yards from the quarterback position, 82 percent of its receptions, 81 percent of its receiving yards, and 71 percent of its rushing yards on offense, according to MSUSpartans.com.

Defensively, the Spartans return 23 letterwinners. Of the nine returning starters, five of which started all 13 games last season — Khari Willis, Raquan Williams, Mike Panisiuk, Andrew Dowell and Joe Bachie. The unit ranked top-7 in the country in both rushing yards allowed (No. 2) and total defense (No. 7).

The Green-White Spring game takes place at Spartan Stadium on Saturday, April 7 at 5 p.m.

Check out the full spring practice schedule below:

No. 1 – Tuesday, Feb. 27
No. 2 – Thursday, March 1
No. 3 – Tuesday, March 13
No. 4 – Thursday, March 15
No. 5 – Friday/Saturday, March 16/17
No. 6 – Tuesday, March 20
No. 7 – Thursday, March 22
No. 8 – Friday/Saturday, March 23/24
No. 9 – Tuesday, March 27
No. 10 – Thursday, March 29
No. 11 – Tuesday, April 3
No. 12 – Thursday, April 5
No. 13 – Friday, April 6
No. 14 – Spring Game, Saturday, April 7, 5 p.m.
No. 15 – Tuesday, April 10

This story originally posted at https://www.theonlycolors.com/2018/3/1/17068812/michigan-state-releases-spring-football-roster by College BattleGround.